Reflections

My Nokia gets the job done… without a fuss.

I have a Nokia. There are others having an iPhone. I don’t regret it. I have a camera in my mobile phone. There are others having a DSLR camera. I certainly don’t regret it.

By starting off with these lines, I am conscious that I might come across somewhat sour, but the essence lies in the fact that it goes much beyond mere materialism. Sometimes in life you just have to make do with what you have and you should have no reason to regret. Why? Because, you get your job done at the end of the day!

Going back to the opening phrase, my recent trip to Udaipur convinced me to write about something that I should have done long back; you don’t need a DSLR to capture a moment. All you need is a humble mobile phone, but yes, one which has a camera! You might not get a stunning picture detailed with minute characters but you do get a memorable click.

Before making the trip to Udaipur, I heard a great deal about its historic palaces, forts and lakes. So when we (friends) went visiting, the second thing we did after raving about the beauty of the place was to get clicking. While there was the sweet sound of my friend’s DSLR working its magic, I wasn’t to be deterred. I whipped out my Lumia 720 and the phone then did what it promised to do; produce decent pictures. Before settling for 720, my dad asked me which phone I desired. I chose Nokia for stereotypical reasons (brand name, durability, and previous user experience.) I chose 720 because, among other things, its camera was receiving glowing reviews from across the board.

I possessed a Nokia C6-01 earlier and I can’t blame you if you wrack your brain to identify the model. No one quite knows when the phone hit the market but there I was insisting my father that he just had to shell out 16k for it. The phone sank without a trace. A flopped model, but it had one saving grace. What else but its camera! The phone gave me many fantabolus clicks. I could capture HD videos and on occasions, helped me to put out clips in the daily news bulletin back at IIMC.

Now, the thing about capturing photos using your mobile phone is best conveyed through a quote attributed to Chase Jarvis, “The best camera is the one that’s with you.” Upon returning from Udaipur, I inferred that one simply can’t take the DSLR everywhere. It’s down to two prominent reasons. 1) Camera charges (the mobile phone, thankfully, doesn’t fall under the clause), 2) one of those days when you are simply lazy to carry it. As a result, you are left with the phone which is, by the way, only too willing to do your bidding.

So, the next time you get moments to capture (and you don’t have your DSLR), it’s certainly worth giving your mobile camera a shot at it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

